Truro to host Annual Mayor Making Ceremony on Monday, 13 May

Photo by Pr4Photos.

One of the most important events in the City Council’s calendar – the formal election of the Mayor and Deputy Mayor at the annual Mayor Making ceremony – will take place at Truro Methodist Church at 7pm on Monday, 13 May.

Traditionally attended by large numbers of past and present City Councillors, Cornwall Councillors, Mayors and civic dignitaries from other towns in Cornwall, and representatives of partner organisations, the ceremony will see Mayor Elect Councillor Mrs Carol Swain and Deputy Mayor Elect Councillor Sam Rabey sign formal Declarations of Acceptance of Office.

Also taking part will be Interim Town Clerk David Rodda. Deputy Town Clerk Esther Greig, Town Crier Lionel Knight, and the city’s Macebearers, together with the Mayor’s Chaplain Reverend Simon Clarke of Truro Methodist Church, and Cadet Aidan Nelson.

The ceremony is open to members of the public, who are asked to take their seats by 6.50pm.


Click to share this article

More to explore

St Piran's Day

‘Dydh sen pyran da’

Truro St Piran’s Day Parade 1pm St George’s Road, Truro Tuesday 5th March ISSUED ON BEHALF OF TRURO CITY COUNCIL AND TRURO OLD CORNWALL SOCIETY

Read More »