Ensuring the future of Truro’s iconic Lander’s Monument

As the proud custodian of Lander’s Monument, which has stood at the top of Lemon Street for almost 200 years, we commission regular inspections of the 50 foot column to make sure it remains in a good condition and will continue looking over the residents and businesses of our city for many years to come.

Designed by Philip Sambell, and completed in 1835, the monument in the form of a Doric column celebrates the discoveries of brothers Richard and John Lander who were born and educated in Truro.  Best known for discovering the source of the River Niger in 1827, the intrepid explorers also took part in expeditions to the West Indies, Europe, Cape Colony (modern-day South Africa), and West Africa.  

 The site was donated by Sir Charles Lemon, and the statue of Richard, created by sculptor Neville Northey Burnard, was added to the monument in 1852.

Apart from a slight scare in 1836 when part of the grade II listed structure collapsed and had to be rebuilt, the monument has stood the test of time and we are committed to ensuring that it continues to do so.

 The task of climbing up to the top of the monument to check its condition is caried out by Dawson Steeplejacks.  A family run business first established in 1837, they were responsible for building many of Cornwall’s tin mine chimneys in the early 1900’s.  Now one of the longest running steeplejack companies in the UK, they have carried out inspections on Lander’s Monument for many, many years.

Photo Credit – Greg Martin / Cornwall Live

During the most recent inspection the team checked the stonework and lighting conductor and carried out some minor repairs.

 Luckily no major issues were identified and so the monument looks set to continue to watch over the city for another 190 years.


Click to share this article

More to explore